Poets logo

Fighting Mania

A poem about living with bipolar disorder.

By Scott NinnemanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

I see you coming

I know your price

Nights spent sleepless

Yet full of vice

I love your high

The morning boost

Fresh ideas

All flight, no roost

Creative joys

Boundless desires

Rushing movements

Erupting fires

My manic friend

Intoxicates

Hushes warnings

And doubt placates

No visit free

It claims its due

Exacting sums

Both old and new

For in its wake

Another stirs

A darkness bleak

With painful spurs

It takes its time

Flips upside down

Sucks out the air

Makes hope breakdown

A heavy price

To ride this ride

Depression comes

Soul-crushing tide

I am adrift

Floating at sea

Can’t stop the high

Or with it plea

So do your worst

With manic burst

To steal the light

Leave me submersed

For just as sure

Each high will come

I have no doubt

You’ll make me numb

But as each high

Meets bitter ends

The darkness too

Not long descends

There is a light

You cannot take

It guides me home

To new daybreak

For this I fight

I’ll never quit

So take your toll

Demand your pit

For I can’t fail

My spirit’s fit

I’ll fight each day

To life commit

- Written June 19, 2021 -

Until next time, keep fighting.

Video version:

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Scott Ninneman

Bipolar for 49 years, chronically ill for 36. The voice behind the Speaking Bipolar blog. Wrestles taxes by day, wrangles words at night. Thinker. TV Addict. Poet. Links: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.