Poets logo

Fight or Flight

We do what we can to protect ourselves.

By Jillian SpiridonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fight or Flight
Photo by Sebastian Seck on Unsplash

I thought I knew you best until the day

you told me you were leaving, and it

was the first time I thought my heart

might pound out of my chest, the panic

rising, making it feel like I couldn’t breathe.

you said you were done, ready to move on,

and I couldn’t believe these were words

trailing from a mouth I knew so well,

from a face with bright green eyes that

I believed had spoken to me alone.

we lie to ourselves and try not to see

the signs as they unravel before us,

and I should have known from the way

your eyes no longer crinkled in affection

when you looked at me each passing day.

even now, I think of you and feel such

white-hot pain that sears through me

as if I’m dying or drowning inside-out,

and I know I should have been the one

to leave first, to avoid all this fresh pain.

it’s been a month, and I imagine if I saw

you in the grocery store or at the gas station

I would turn and run the other way before

I would ever look your way and remember

just how safe and warm you made me feel.

maybe I’m a coward, a bird itching for flight,

but I won’t say I’m sorry to you when you

did the leaving, the breaking, the hurting—

all for a life without me in it, a world where

it’s as if you and I never even happened.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jillian Spiridon

just another writer with too many cats

twitter: @jillianspiridon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.