Poets logo

Festering Feelings

Physical effects of anxiety

By Laura LannPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Festering Feelings
Photo by Joice Kelly on Unsplash

Like a knife of hot straight to my veins,

My anxiety and anger rushes, sustains,

Hot then cold,

I vomit, fold.

Down I crumble, down I spiral

Find your words, turn the dial

To your emotions so they are

Calm, steady, controlled from afar.

Hide your anger deep in folds

Of the pleasantry one holds

When they are normal and well

Do not let tears fester and swell.

You are strong, you are controlled

This lie, over and over told

Till I wear it on the outside

Not eating is easy to hide

If it is the only teller of distress

That I wear in daily dress.

So it sits in my chest, heavy rotten

Vile enough food is forgotten

Despite the rumbling quells,

Of my stomach as it tells

Me I need food, things to live,

But the urge to vomit does not give.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.