Poets logo

Feminism

Poem

By KK245Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Feminism
Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

I am not a feminist,

According to this day and age.

I don’t believe in hating men,

Or that we were created the same.

But I’ll tell you this, so listen close

That even though I don’t like to boast

I do carry a certain ability

To give a human life from within me.

For years there’s been a huge debate

On how to harness the power that I contain.

And the ones who’ve come before me to forge the way,

Who made sure my voice was heard and that I got a say.

I commend your strength and bravery,

But I don’t agree with using hate

To promote a basic decency

Of human rights without misogyny.

I’m not a feminist in the sense

That I want to be the same as men.

However, I have watched them fall

Many times at women’s hands.

After all, King David could smite a giant as a boy,

But couldn’t resist when he beheld

A woman in all her glory.

So while I’m small and sometimes mild,

Remember you were once a child

And had a mother who’s just like me,

That brought you forth from between her knees;

Which do not knock or tremble

In the face of adversity.

And next time there’s a dispute regarding the topic of equality,

It would not be a wise decision

To underestimate my strength;

Despite my inner femininity.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

KK245

Be , what you are!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.