Poets logo

Fearing 1984 [Dedicated to the Channel 4 Series: ‘It’s A Sin’]

By: Karlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cast of Channel 4's "It's A Sin"; courtesy of the Series' FB Page & The Polo Lounge, London UK 30.01.21 l

1.

Eight years old roaring running free

Without a care in the world that was Me

World around Me changed, things got re-arranged

Death paid Us a violent Visit, stealing souls

Most paid it hardly any mind and just called it a large mole

In my little island room on my made-for-one-bed

While so many, many like me were locked away and left for dead.

The Ribbon courtesy of Artist JPK Small's FB Page (2014)

2.

Never too flamboyant, like a frightened flamingo

Hiding my head, more silence less said

In the background, with all creativity deeply buried

Scared I fled, so I was far away

No one wanted to know Me that way

My last hug from Mother, then boarding the iron bird

Safe from the hate and persecution

Never a statistic to society's institutions.

3.

I partied hard through the end of the nineties

Bearing in mind I survived being raped

The cross they bore was not my fate

Most of my life spent worried and drained

Existing not living, the one thing I never wanted

No soul to see in the mirror, always haunted

Pills swallowed, life hollowed, and Me trapped

Waking up to a larger than life Nurse cleaning my crap

"Being A Black Man in this World" courtesy of Charles Montgomery's FB Page (10.11.2018)

4.

Where did I go so horribly wrong

Unimportant & irrelevant

Singing my silent song

Love drove by, leaving Me no post

Warm willing Heart, needing Her the most

Mom went, Cancer stole her away

I’m left bereft with nothing but regret

Wanting to hold her one last time

So closely, almost bonding her soul with mine

If I could only go back to 1984.

End.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.