Poets logo

Fear

Ayana Stagg

By Hi, I'm Ayana.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m scared, too, you know?

I’m scared of a lot of things.

All the time.

I’m terrified.

Hmm? What keeps me moving forward?

Something in me always remembers...

That there’s so much good on the other side.

What makes me trust it? Even though I've haven't yet seen it?

It's a deep truth..

Deep in my gut.

A belief in so much good...

That it makes me salivate on the inside… and outside.

You know what that means?

To salivate?

It’s like when you see and/or smell something so delicious,

Your mouth can’t help but produce more saliva.

In my mind...

It’s so much that it starts to drip out the sides of my mouth.

I smile and smell the tantalizing scent of fresh, large bounty.

A wonderful bounty on the other side of fear.

It makes me want to run faster.

Hit barriers harder so I can get to my prize.

Sometimes so much so that I have to calm down and sit still

In case I run through or past those blessings, you see?

I may be terrified…

I’m more terrified of missing out,

Of being back where I was,

Of not seeing the next horizon,

Of being stuck in time.

So I go.

Or I sit still. Depending…

Because it’s either that,

Or death.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hi, I'm Ayana.

Hi, I'm Ayana. I write poetry and prose. Usually with a spiritual/esoteric whisper ;). Tip!🌻💙

Well wishes and heavenly kisses,

Ayana

(Uh-ya-na)

IG: hi.im.ayana

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.