Poets logo

Fear

9 years ago

By Walking TravestysPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fear
Photo by Melanie Wasser on Unsplash

In that space, darkness surrounds me like a blanket,

no way in, and no way out, why is my life standing still?

Out of the dark comes someone smiling, someone who cares?

I return that friendly smile, hoping, praying, that it's not a mistake.

I realize my eyes are wide with fear, what is happening?

My smiling stranger, where did he go? how could he leave me?

Then I see him stepping close to me, a worried expression on his face.

I see his concern, and I put on my best smile, hoping to hide.

But All I can really think about is whether or not they were right.

Was he really harming himself for me? Not thinking anything of it?

I try and pull back, but I can't, realizing he won't let go of me,

His fingers leaving red welts on my arms from pressing so hard.

I feel the circulation in my arms slowing, and I start to panic.

I push against his chest, trying to get him to let go, but he still won't.

He just seems to grip my arms and shoulders even harder,

Ignoring my face that twists into many contortions at once with a gasp.

I suppose that the one who rescues you may be the one to

destroy you. Leaving a ragged suit of armor behind... The one,

the one who is your escape, does just that, escapes, at the first

sight of any danger, not protecting you or anyone...

no, not against that one last kiss with fear...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Walking Travestys

Hello, I'm Sharon!

Enjoy poems from the past, and the present - all brought here for you! Thank you for reading, and thank you for being you! ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.