Poets logo

Fatherhood

A poem about how terrifying babies are.

By Conor MatthewsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Fatherhood
Photo by Liane Metzler on Unsplash

The terror in those chubby little digits,

The crippling, knee shattering glimmer,

And the sorrowful joy conjured by that smile.

As I hold you, and look down into your depths,

I can’t help but be eviscerated and condemned,

By the mark-less perfection I and this world will ruin.

You are the love I didn’t know I would lose,

One day as you are happy my heart will ache,

For I held you, my arms a cradle, now unable to hold you back.

If I am lucky, you will hate me,

You will be spoiled and cruel,

Signs I have done outstandingly.

But I have failed you if you are kind,

I have let the world hate you if you are understanding,

I am to be blame for you being reasonable.

Every step you take,

Every struggled word you spit,

I will mourn for it is you leaving me.

I won’t stand in your way,

Bending you into my potted plant,

Aching to have your limbs sprawled and free.

I look down on you, in my arms,

And you look up at me, carelessly sweet,

And I cannot be brave in the face of my love for you,

My sweet,

Unborn,

Cosette.

love poemsperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Conor Matthews

Writer. Opinions are my own. https://ko-fi.com/conormatthews

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.