Poets logo

Father

where are you now?

By Payton CierraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

You usually don't pop into my head, not even before bed..

Who are you? Where have you been?

I cry and I ache, but know that you aren't my reason for pain.

It isn't you, not really. It's the way you left and made me feel lonely.

Like I am nothing, not worth it. Well let me tell you something.

I have grown and I have changed; that includes my way of thinking.

I am not the problem and never have been.

Your cowardice ways will eat you alive.

But what will win first, your stubbornness or pride?

You will never truly live or be happy. Maybe when you die.

It's difficult to see eternal peace for you, though the Lord knows I've tried.

Sometimes I pray for you. It must be exhausting having to hide.

Just cover up the emotions and imbibe.

Alcohol will always be there, be sure to put it first.

There was obviously something you missed..

Though I have been cursed.

To care for someone who simply does not care for you.

But that was your job, why would you give it up?

It does not make sense to me.. I know it never will.

I will never lose faith, because that is when it all goes downhill..

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.