Poets logo

Farewell

A poem for a dear friend.

By Martin AhrensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My time here has come to an end,

a painful farewell to a dear old friend.

I have never grieved in such a way,

yet I still see you every single day.

I didn't want this to be real,

I dreaded the hurt, despised the feel.

Yet in this trip I have changed,

inching closer to enlightened.

Still, here I sit like you, alone and frightened .

I learned today I am content with me,

because of your direction, I am starting to see.

I made your place mine, it didn't feel right,

I laid my head on your pillow, smelling you all through the night.

Although it brought me comfort,

It still just didn't feel right.

Everywhere we went, there you were,

you are with me always, for that I am sure.

Please my friend take comfort in knowing,

that I love you and I will keep going.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.