Poets logo

Family

A Poem

By AngelaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by: Wayne Lee-Sing on Unsplash

You watched as I bounced around, and

saw the festivities with this one bundle of joy;

it's got to be a boy.

You pondered over football and teaching me the ropes,

arm wrestle, Super-Nintendo like you knew my horoscope.

I blew your mind as you wondered who was next?

Not a care in the world, but sure you cared.

Sat opposite Chung-li, I mastered Mario brothers too

a mini-me, of you.

You anticipated my arrival and embraced me with joy,

as we shared our sweets and I played with your toys.

Then things started to change

but I thought it was what you wanted.

They never prepared me for this,

as I braided my dolls hair in twists.

Then we became adolescents,

which no-one figured out

and with that came the tensions.

Just be there in the background like you promised.

Love and the other word had me conflicted.

You defended my steps then later down the line,

somehow things turned left.

I became your protector but with the new direction

communication had felt like a test.

That day there were changes in you,

but there were also changes in me too.

So I waited for your arrival thinking perhaps someday,

it will all be normal again.

We argued, then made up then argued and nothing.

I should be bitter-sweet,

but maturity overshadowed me in a time I needed help

if I was a boy, this would have been something else.

If I could go back, I would change nothing.

There was nothing I could do at the time.

If there was one thing I wished I could see,

was that it had nothing to do with me.

I wished you could see that too.

During the silence and in the dislike

I saw you cry.

Then I hugged you.

Remember when I was there and you hugged me, remember?

Like siblings, we clash but home is still home

and whether we're miles apart, we'll never be in this alone.

Either way, I hoped.

Either way, you coped.

When hoping was all you could do and coping was my only fuel.

It would have been easier to deny like I never cared,

but I took the harder route and wonder, how did we end up here?

Neither one of us is to blame I know this now and one of the reasons why; sacrifices were made so when their eyes turn green in amazement, just walk on by.

So as you walk, I stand up too with my head held up high.

It was never about you it was never about me

in a situation, we never asked for.

Today is a good day and something to celebrate, as hope has opened the door.

You’re the example that’s why I hate when we're at odds but still,

I pray.

For a renewing of minds and a brand new start, tomorrow is always a new day.

Reaching the light at the end of the tunnel,

it's now and we've got to be quick.

With all the rumble there was a slight stumble,

tried and tested in seasons - we made it.

As we live our lives I look back at the times we have healed in many ways,

so I do what I do and hold onto my smile,

just enough to get us here in the first place.

Now I look forward to the day,

when we can look back, and laugh, and start all over again.

Or continue, where we left off just like a fashion trend.

A hug means more now from you to me, here’s a toast to our bond.

Family.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Angela

Passionate about the written word, and sharing my love for the Arts, Travel and Popular Culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.