Poets logo

‘Falling Angel’ and ‘Purity’

The 14th and 15th stories of ‘Divine Revelation’.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
‘Falling Angel’ and ‘Purity’
Photo by Yura Lytkin on Unsplash

Two objects tumbling to the ground. Which will hit the concrete first? Which falls faster: my body from heaven or my heart for you?

.

.

.

She told me the story behind her ring.

I can remember that it was given to her by a maternal relation, it might have been her grandmother, but I cannot say whom it was for certain. I can’t remember.

I do remember that it used to be a different colour. That the paua shell was set the wrong way, so the sheets run horizontally. That the top layer had chipped off to reveal the layer beneath it.

I think that’s what she’s done to me. Chipped away the first layer of myself and revealed what’s underneath. My soul feels raw and delicate. The salt that clings to her fingers stings with every touch, but I don’t mind.

Two holy bodies alone in the darkness. Carrying fractured memories and rotting stories. I knew we’d always be holy, but she knew we’d never stay pure.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.