Poets logo

Falling

Melted Wings

By R. G. ReidburnPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

My defenses have never been up for you

My armor set aside

My sword sheathed

Simply not needed,

Waiting for a time when I need to don them

Not to fight you

But alongside you.

Without my armor,

The more I'm laid bare for you,

The more I realize how battered I am from previous campaigns.

Scarred, but some are still wounds I thought had healed.

I feel again the pain from these old wounds

It lets me know I still have things to heal

I am thankful for that.

By the time I began to worry that my wings would melt,

I was closer to your sun than any I've flown by before.

I veered,

Began to plummet

But this time the light caught me

My wings still intact.

You are that light.

You are my light, though never mine

Too free to belong to anyone

It's part of your beauty.

I, instead, am yours,

Freely given,

And I know I am in good hands.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

R. G. Reidburn

A Coast Guard vet who has also been a bookseller, video game tester, and many other things. In his free time he is usually reading, writing, or working on his house. Currently resides on the southern Washington coast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.