Poets logo

Fake a Smile

Plan the laughter, single file

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Fake a Smile
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

Why sit down and cry aloud?

Seek attention as you please?

Feel the pain build up inside,

The volcano erupting for them to see?

For these are times to last a while.

Fake a smile.

.

How could I relieve my truth

If one judges, compares nonstop?

Curl the corners, show the teeth,

Dim the tears to stay atop.

Plan the laughter, single file.

Fake a smile.

.

Have I taken things too far

Practicing tactics to conceal?

This secular world is not aware

When I wear crescents curved too real.

This crescent cradles with style

With nothing but fake smiles.

.

Would heroes save a life like mine?

Do damsels look alike to me?

Can a shadow, can a voice

Hitch me back on my two feet?

I’m a stinkin’ trash pile,

But still,

Fake a smile.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.