Poets logo

Fading

Away

By Sophia ShepherdPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

His scent is fading away so quickly nowadays.

I can’t remember it enough to describe it anymore.

Longing for him has becoming a hobby

Of mine.

Taking away most of my thoughts,

That’s how I spend my time.

I write him letters,

Nearly daily now.

Telling him all that I want, as if he never drifted away.

It seems like the sun is finally starting to peak through,

I can feel the warmth cross my face,

Filling my stomach, fluttering like fireflies.

Oh, how the day is yellow.

But, never forget,

The sun sets,

For the night to come.

And oh does it

Come.

The grey night, lasts days...

Weeks,

Sometimes months.

It’s really uncertain when the night will come again.

Some days, I think it actually is day, but the sky is covered in grey.

Maybe I’m looking in the reflection.

Days were always longer with him.

Almost always, clear skies above.

But with the curse of being young,

I gave him a tail and wings to fly away.

So he soared, headed straight for the sun.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.