Poets logo

Extrapolate

A poem about all the ways I never connected with my dad, though he is a wildly different person now, by ED 6/20/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Extrapolate
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

All the things I don’t know

That can’t exist in this sphere

Should have been simple enough to explain

Let me extrapolate them here:

Your favorite meal

Was the one where I was not present

Your Holy Hour in front of the television

Made my feather-light steps more hesitant

Your favorite song was the silent one

Never written nor even conceived

Your favorite child was easily the one

Of which your wife was bereaved

Your favorite photo

Of cold gun metal

Took the place of the wife

With undying spiritual mettle

Your favorite family member

With four paws and sharp teeth

Took all of my strength not to kill

Before she nearly cut my life brief

Your favorite color is not one but two

Black and white for every situation

Logic was always the only solution

With nothing deeper than surface skimming meditation

All the things I don’t know

That still might not exist

Are no longer paramount

Because I have seen your metamorphosis.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.