Poets logo

Everything Before and After

a poem

By Sam Eliza GreenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7
photo by Noelle Otto on Pexels

Gentle fingertips

caress the piano

of my ribs,

and she reminds me

to eat something hearty

this winter

when it’s easier

to hide my nothingness

beneath knitted sweaters

and sleepless

nights spent longing

for something heavy.

Bones creak

when I run, so I don’t.

I’m tired of dreaming

but too drowsy to wake.

My body is the frame

of a building

long forgotten, and

the carpenters are away.

Some days,

wilting is like breathing,

but she swears

I’ll get better with water

and something earthy

in this belly

mostly occupied

by moths.

Often,

I question her mastery

of thriving

like sunflowers,

times beyond the bleak,

or nights of undisturbed slumber.

“I am everything

before and after,” she whispers,

fingers tracing

the shaded depressions

of my ribcage

where strength had perished

this autumn and last.

“I am now,” I cry

through labored lungs,

fueled not by

skin and bones,

muscle or lack thereof

but the bittersweet memory

of being her.

“So was I,” she sighs,

and, together,

we clamber

through the frigid window,

bare our shoulders

where velvety wings grow,

and flutter toward

the forgiving

moonlight.

love poemssad poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

Sam Eliza Green

Wayward soul, who finds belonging in the eerie and bittersweet. Poetry, short stories, and epics. Stay a while if you're struggling to feel understood. There's a place for you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Every word you have written is beautiful! I struggle to keep up with the basics, so I can thoroughly relate to this!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Sigh. So sad and lovely.

  • Brian Gradyabout a year ago

    you have a beautiful way with words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.