Poets logo

Everytherwise

Poems for a cloud like me

By Elena HughesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Everytherwise
Photo by Jerry Zhang on Unsplash

I place the dial

atop a crown

of frizzy hair.

Watch me spin.

With a soul

too far away

to call.

You cry out. Tug and reel.

It's not that I don't want to come along

It's just- I try to leave the colors

on the horizon

and call it just a sunrise.

But then I always end up

taking them with me.

I try and and usher forth

that more solid, present

sense of self.

For you?

I'm not sure.

I don't know.

The sentence of our existences: I do not know.

How to not frustrate

by frowning while hanging

up my fool's jacket -bangles

bobbles and all- and start acting

otherwise. Being otherwise.

Youtherwise. Metherwise. Everytherwise.

Start being what. That?

Wise. Yes.

A soft voice: Maybe...

Aligned with the generation's cadence for a start,

you say, but in a much more boring-er way.

While I lie, brushing off the dustier memories,

with their familiar grooves and smoothed, thumbed edges.

Juicy peaches of thought

Frozen dew drops of time

Ran across by daily tides

but I am the one who will

pick them up. I wish to hold

And examine. Each one.

Each individual

with my sanded fingertips.

Perhaps, I say or think in my head

per the usual dazed response.

My everything just skips a beat.

And someone smiles, from I wonder where.

But all because it was I who placed the dial,

and it will at least be my voice

that sings out of tune.

I am lucky,

though you do not understand

here you come anyways

to just sit

and listen.

art
Like

About the Creator

Elena Hughes

Aspiring author and adventurer who is writing their way through life’s many mountains...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.