Poets logo

‘Eucharist’ and ‘Death’

The 16th and 17th stories of ‘Divine Revelation’.

By annie harperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
‘Eucharist’ and ‘Death’
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

The wine drips from my lips

As I devour her body.

The holy altar, dressed in white,

Is the stage of my new hobby.

.

I practice every Saturday

As the sun begins to rise.

By the evening mass the echoes

Of her exultation will subside.

.

Sunday is the holy day.

I’ll spend it on my knees.

I worship every inch of her

Until she is pleased.

.

Drunk on religious ecstasy

But we’ve only just begun.

I bring her further into me

So that we may become one.

.

.

.

Death is but an endless sleep

And I pray to Death, my soul to keep.

But, if you die before I do,

I pray he holds on to you too.

.

He’ll hold you close and take good care

Because he knows I’ll soon be there

To hold your hand and walk along

Into death’s quiet, endless song.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

annie harper

Just an actor from Central Queensland, writing some short stories and poetry. I hope you find one you like <3

TW: a lot of my work contains mentions of self-harm, suicide, death, abuse, and mental illness. Please be gentle with yourself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.