Poets logo

Eternal Sleep

Dedicated to all the mothers Who Weep

By Bruce Curle `Published 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Warren Curle 2021

Deep Down Below

Wishing not to be known

You yearn for the embrace

Of your sweet love

so far away at home

Staring down the Enemy

The enemy of the day

"Lord, I pray my soul to keep","

You mutter away.

Gazing at the morning red sky

You look to a mate

Quietly asking "WHY"

For so many of your

Friends are forever asleep

God, Country, and Freedom

Seems so far away.

You vowed to bring freedom

But why do so many mothers weep

For those now eternally asleep.

So, this is War!

You’ll give your all!

Praying to God

"Father let me fear not eternal; sleep."

But still more mothers weep;

For those joining the eternally sleep.

Photo by Warre Curle 2020

Author's Note - This poem I wrote in 2008 when I learned a friend from my youth was murdered in a street in Iraq. He was a truck driver from the United Kingdom, I wrote this and dedicate it to all the mothers who weep over their lost sons and daughters.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Bruce Curle `

A Fifty something male that enjoys writing short stories, scripts and poetry. I have had many different types of work over my lifetime and consider myself fairly open minded and able to speak on many topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rio10 months ago

    Just one a single click here this website https://howtogetfreerbx.com invite your friends on this site.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.