Poets logo

Escapist Embraces

a desire to dissociate

By nathaneyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I fall asleep to dreams of better days,

I wait for the one to love me anyways.

My pen on paper tells the lies,

I’ll try on a new disguise,

A pretty mask and empty eyes,

You try to see but aren’t that wise.

I tread a well traveled road

But still no one knows,

Where does it lead?

Where does it go?

Do you ever feel

You know less than before?

The world is burning,

The heat I feel,

I thought it’d be longer

But now it’s real .

Sky red with flames,

I list off the names

Of people I’ve hurt,

People who love me,

That’s even worse.

Bathtub filling with blood,

Tears in a jar up for sale,

Anything to stop the flood,

The weight of the final thud.

My feet follow a line,

I stumble but know I’m fine,

Wear an ego, a warning sign

I trip towards what’s mine.

This life is a game

I just learned to play,

I’ll judge myself

On what you say.

These dreams are far easier,

Away from what I heard,

The emptiness, my best success,

Guess this is as good as it gets.

I fall to my knees,

Answer pleas as I plead,

Is this my destiny?

Red is all that I see.

Is it rage, is it despair?

I ask as I rinse my hair,

Wash myself of the issue

But find I still miss you.

Green grass is dying,

You think I’m lying,

I feel my own decay,

Wait for the final day.

Please love my damage,

See what I’ve seen.

It isn’t baggage,

If you really love me.

Blinded by living,

Seeing the death,

Please hold me closer,

Let me escape myself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

nathaney

I'm an optimistic nihilist comforted by collectivism, in a world worshipping rugged individualism.

I have no idea what I'm doing here,

or in general.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.