Poets logo

Escaping My Mental Prison

Break free of the mental chains.

By Soul SistahPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Elevation is what I'm trying to do but my self-doubt won't let me make it through the doors that lead to my blessings. I keep trying to think positive only to end up stressing and protesting that my dreams aren't meant to come true and maybe this life is all I have to look forward to.

Manifestation is my aim yet I keep getting in my own way and causing myself pain because I refuse to see my way out of this mental prison that holds captive my dreams. The escape plan is in full effect still I haven't found the confidence to leave and once again I find myself trapped inside my head.

Depression I fought but anxiety plotted and schemed then won leaving me feeling like I'm on the run from myself and every time I think I'm free the chains grab a hold of me.

So what do I do? I yearn for freedom but am scared to embrace it, I have the doorway that leads to opportunity but don't have the courage to open it and take it. I am the key to my success but how can I unlock the door if I haven't unlocked my potential and freed myself from myself?

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Soul Sistah

Content creator and writer.

Welcome to my world, come inside and let my poetic vibes soothe your soul, while my words echo in your mind and leave you wanting more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Soul Sistah is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.