Poets logo

Empty Vessels

Hollow

By Jjenni Dagnelli Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

April 2003

Empty vessels

You look to your left side and there walking by the window is a face

Caught in a brief side glance you think there in lies a mystery

Every place that you seem to go, where no one else is looking, you find nothing that can make things change

What is this world?

A empty vessel devoid of all rational emotions

Without any devotion

How do we carry on?

Taking the quiet and easy roads

To avoid the long haul

Growing in a world of giants

I tend to feel so small

When I speak

I wonder

Is anyone listening

The words falling from my lips

Seem to sometimes echo

No sound at all

I make my way down the long corridor of fallen angels

Only to find

At the end of the tunnel

The dream is still sleeping

Everywhere I look it seems that I can see the face of something less and less familiar

The heart

It matters

Remained the same

It sometimes fills me with pain to not have you near me

To not be able to see you

But I know one day you will come to me again and make the world less chaotic

So it remains

Until then

In this barricade of winter forts that I wait for a quiet moments approach me from behind

For harmony to sing once more

It’s purity placing a warm hand on top of mine

Cradling my soul

As my heart waits for my eyes to know

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jjenni Dagnelli

the poetry beneath your skin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.