Poets logo

Empty

but it's nobody's fault.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

“Feed your head”

“Free your mind”

That’s what they said I have no time

I have no thoughts left there to think

I haven’t the initiative to initiate my shrink

I have no passion, I’m much too empty

I crave such petty empathy

“You’re too pretentious,” she said one day

I’d hoped I’d let go, one day I may

One day I may let the rain hit my head

One day, I pray, I won’t pray to be dead

Won’t pray you instead choose I’m “the one”

The one won’t help if you’ve already won

That one day that I pray to such beliefs I believe

I pray that I’ll hope not to hope that I leave

All my life in this world since it’s made me so dull

All these thoughts that I think, all these, all of these, all

All these things I must do, all this stress that I hold

Held up in my chest until the day I grow old

Welled up in my heart, all that love I once felt

Now I feel empty, but it’s nobody’s fault

He hurts, and she hurts, and we hurt all at once

“One day I pray that she won’t be a cunt”

She said one day to only herself

Although we heard words meant for everyone else

Trust not these ears, trust not these eyes

I see and hear nothing but lies

Feed your head and free your mind

That's what they said, I have no time

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.