Poets logo

Emergency Landing

the dropping of an oxygen mask

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Emergency Landing
Photo by Niels And Marco on Unsplash

if I was given a miracle

would I feel shame

surrounded by people

going through pain

that continue to suffer

without someone to blame

with no scapegoat to find

still hope for a change

as if somehow relief

comes from changed scene s

but even with closed eyes

it’s hard not to see

simple words heard

is all it takes to believe

people are hurting

people are suffering

some people think better

others less trusting

which is why I don't know

so please don't ask me

because I thought I was healed

but I continue to bleed

so when my oxygen masked dropped

I put it on first

but I think it's the actual breathing

that's causing the hurt

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.