Poets logo

Embrace Love

A poem by Martin S. Wathen

By Martin S. WathenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Oh, what a mess she did make.

Risking my heart to wilt and flake.

.

Oh, laugh at my failing heart,

As she approached in glide.

She was no less than a work of art.

There was no time, or space, for me to hide.

.

Two eyes seeming rounder than the rest.

A bantam sparkle glistening between.

From a pool of billions, they were the best.

Glimmering to glow, tossing me to dream.

.

They were brunette. Two ponds of caramel.

Two oceans. I sensed enchantment as I drown.

My knees crumbled as I gazed parallel.

Collapsing, meagrely, into that heaven of brown.

.

It was not long until I knew we should marry.

As you well know, son, she was your mother.

I’d soon propose, in storms, atop that ferry.

My sturdiest love, I was bold enough to discover.

.

Your mother was pure,

Such a shame she’s now lost

Kindness mixed aside her allure.

A forceful breeze, of delight, in a gust.

.

For we once feared, that which did many.

A havoc riddled life, pinched of its once glee.

Fights, spats, too many children, if any.

If only I’d knew, the brilliance coming for me.

.

Life riddled with smiles, toying with hair.

Too many bellyaching laughs to count.

Perhaps we’d collected our fair share?

Far exceeding one’s typical amount.

.

Because on her wondrous approach,

I felt my life swiftly change forever.

The old? Departing grandly via caroche

When it may return? Likely never.

.

There was a swirling of my gut,

As my eyes devoured her smile.

A rumbling wave; head to butt.

Staying upright was a trial.

.

Do not, I beg of you, fear love.

Instead, I ask, please, embrace it.

Sometimes it fits as easily as a glove.

Often it slips, disappointingly, into shit.

.

Love isn’t a frightful creature,

Or sentence more taxing than jail.

Listen now; allow me as your teacher.

Love is a mountain, few truly scale.

.

If it fits, I promise a life of bliss.

Existence compressed in the elation of two.

Something I, unequivocally, miss.

Attached ecstatically like unshiftable glue.

.

Who knows, I should suggest,

It’s likely to be true.

Some day you may be telling your kids

That time you first heard “I love you”.

.

Just like now, as I detail the last.

Love, does not always wilt. But,

I warn you, son, that time flies fast.

Please embrace your swirling gut.

.

Love, my boy, is something you shouldn’t be afraid.

Oh look, would you please, at the wonderful mess we made.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Martin S. Wathen

A writer practicing in both prose and script. With a deep passion for film and screenwriting, I use this platform to publish all unique ideas and topics which I feel compelled to write about! True crime, sport, cinema history or so on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.