Poets logo

Elegy of the Airplane

A call to a passenger inside

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
7
Elegy of the Airplane
Photo by Bridger Bowcutt on Unsplash

Here I am and there you are.

You can’t see me and neither can that guy,

that stranger sat near to you, pressed

to your shoulder, torturously

beside [read: robber of my intimacy].

The eight year old behind you, striving

against cabin pressure, tossing

herself to regain a blip of comfort

[read: me] she can't see a flicker

of my existence.

Here I am watching you,

you, [feel: without me]

as you plummet through a glowing mountain.

Here I am and there you are.

While you can see more

[read: more],

you can’t see me.

Your gaze falls farther

than my heart has stretched before

Wider than my spirit

can hug your smile

Higher even than my tears,

oh, my tears,

can clear that figure of you in the sky  [read: beyond].

Your eyes don’t fall on me,

and the misted sky is solid to you

and to me, you’re fading away

past, above, and through a jagged, stoic cliff.

-

I am here, and over there   you are.

You’re zooming past me

at unfathomable speed and I,

I am at the mercy of planetary spin

[read: unfathomable speed] [feel:

nothing].

Singularly together—

in frame, a moment, till life presses play

and you’re gone, jetting into,

rocketing through, falling past

a blue iced summit in the penumbra of my eye.

  

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
7

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mesh Toraskar6 months ago

    I am going to go through all of your works this week, just started with this (destined to find more Mackenzie favourites). I am surprised at your range and your ability to ground emotions in words. Why is it that your poems leave me with so much to say. My language often fails or repeats itself to describe how I feel, so I will not go into detail - just know you are so talented and I demand you to start working on a book/poetry collection (if you haven't already). Also your titles are just genius.

  • Blue eyes summit in the penumbra of my eye! I loved that line so much! This was a very beautifully written poem!

  • Stunning. This poem extends beyond a sorrowful airport departure for me. It gathers loss eloquently, a slow rip.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Wow! This is beautiful. I love the way you formatted it. Great work.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    Heart stopping!I will remember this poem the next time I face a tearful airport goodbye.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.