Poets logo

Eight Seats Away

School Bus

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5

And now I’m sitting on the bus

Listening to another sad song

And you’re eight seats away from me

But I can’t go and talk to you

You’re eight seats away but

You’re with your friend and

You haven’t glanced my way

Since thirty minutes ago when

You gave me a dismissive wave

Before answering your phone

It’s been thirty minutes

Since you’ve glanced my way

But it’s been over a year

(Maybe a lifetime)

Since you’ve actually

Seen me

You’re so close but

I can’t reach you because

If you wanted to talk to me

You would

If you wanted to talk to me

You would’ve three years ago

And if you wanted me

You’d be with me

And not her

She’s not here right now

But it doesn’t matter because

I know she’s on your mind and maybe

I’m sitting eight seats away from you

But I know I’m a lot further from your heart

I guess it’ll be another bus trip

(And another lifetime) of

Wishing I was her because

If I was then you’d be

Sitting next to me and

Not eight seats away

❀❀❀❀❀

Please read more of my poems like this:

heartbreaksad poetrylove poems
5

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Never seen, not even so much as to be allowed to evanesce.

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Young love 💕 Very good 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.