Poets logo

Eau de Toilette

I want to smell life

By P.A. WilkinsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Im sick of perfume

I want to smell life

I want to smell the stink

That nature designed

.

I want to smell dirt

That shows me you planted a flower

Not an imitation smell

From a bottle of fragranced toilet water

.

I want to smell spices

And freshly cooked food

Not fancy soaps

That mask the concoction you’ve brewed

.

I want to smell the sweat

From a hard working body

I want to smell the burnt bitter aroma

Of a fresh brewed coffee

I want to smell the rain falling

On the hot, dry earth

I want to smell the cleanse

Of the sage that you burn

I want to smell the pages

Of a well worn book

I want to smell the kitchen

Of a well seasoned cook

.

I want to smell fiery wood

I want to smell the ocean tide

I want to smell fishy rivers

I want to smell life

.

Rid my senses of your imitation scents

I want to smell life

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

P.A. Wilkinson

Trying to make sense of the universe around us. The mistakes of yesterday are today’s wisdom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.