Poets logo

Early Morning Engine Roaring

I wrote this 12 years ago

By W. Joe O'BanionPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Early Morning Engine Roaring
Photo by Stefano Valicchia on Unsplash

Early morning

Engine roaring

Though soon I will be mourning

Wake up screaming

Somber pleading

Then I know it's just a dream

No harm will come it truly seems

Though I was only dreaming

//

Summers here the days are bright

No worry in the world of the dreaming

The sun is beaming

And then comes night

As my heart begins to pace

I try and look clear out to space

Rejecting dreams they are no matter

At least it seems that summer night

//

Fourth of July

Falls on summers radiant eye

Out with my mom early that morning

Nothing prepared me for her mourning

Her heart seems to fall as she listen to the voice

Her oldest son now faces the consequences of his choice

She rushes off so scared and deep in thought

Though the hardships soon to be faced I know of not.

//

Early morning

Engine roaring

My brother falls asleep

And the ravine he faces is so steep

Wakes up flying

Three girls crying

Sixty-five feet through the air

Is sure to be more than just a scare

//

Sirens wail

Life flight sails

All are saved

No bodies stayed

Intensive care saves all lives

Though ankle and back face horrible demise

Though I thought it was just a dream

Harm did come it truly seems

====================================================

I wrote this as a confused and scared 7th grader, looking back on it 12 years later, I still am happy with the word choice and the meaning conveyed! If you enjoyed this poem please consider reading another of mine. Here is another of mine "Tick Tock" https://vocal.media/poets/tick-tock-nz4e4p0bbe

Please let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment, and liking this poem. I would love to build a community of like minded people!

I am new to this platform and am trying to build a subscriber base, and would be honored if you subscribe as I continue to create more content like this. If you feel like giving away money and want to give me a tip, I'm always grateful!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jobanion10

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/wjobanion10/

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

W. Joe O'Banion

Proud father of two, married to my best friend, and I write to cope with being a human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.