Poets logo

e@mail

a poem and a piece of gratitude

By Lucy Dan (she/her/她)Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
e@mail
Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Subject: a piece of gratitude

From: [email protected]

To: [email protected]

Hi E.,

You always

listen, engaged and

ready to learn more about

my experiences, my perspectives,

my barriers, my dreams.

You always

check-in on me

as time passes,

peeking in to see

how things are going.

You always

support me when I

excitedly announce a new

thought, idea, plan;

even when I, myself, am unsure.

I always

thought that I would never

build a deep friendship

with someone

thinking that I was too different, too unwanted;

and you were the one

who showed me

that

there is good in everyone.

That a soft approach

is always possible,

even if I can’t personally

do it yet.

that I could always

lean towards you for guidance,

and feel comfortable sharing my own advice.

The moments we’ve spent together

have been the most precious

my life.

Here’s to a million more.

Thank you, and have a great day,

Lucy

The Egg Girl

Medium Writer

Big Time Shower Thinker

***

Thank you for the daily poetry prompt from Poetry in Voice.

Have the courage to write a baldly, nakedly, stupidly honest poem about someone you know, dead or alive, and say what you really feel about them. Try prompting yourself with rough starts like this, YOU HURT ME, YOU ALWAYS, YOU NEVER; YOU, MY DARLING YOU. (From Lynn Crosbie)

***

I'm dedicating this and many other egg memes to a friend who has been such a ray of sunshine in her life. To true, supportive, healthy friendships, we raise this glass.

***

Lucy (@ramyeonjpg) is a budding poet who jots down all the wildest pieces of her life into poetry form. By day, she's a graduate student. By night, she crochets an unreasonable number of scrunchies to de-stress. As someone who never runs out of ideas, she aids other writers who run into writer's block with weekly poetry (or writing!) prompts. Feel free to join in here!

Piece first published here.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Dan (she/her/她)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.