Poets logo

Dumb Love

poem

By Muhammad IqbalPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dumb Love
Photo by Filipe Almeida on Unsplash

Dumb Love.

Lingering thoughts remain of your beautiful stout lips,

And yet I deem you vain and of love an eclipse,

An eclipse of rationality, yes,

A menace of intuition.

What is love to me?

A disturbance, a fluctuation, a turbulence and an ending hiss.

Lost in your eyes and of my own, love is an abyss.

You flutter your eyelids just as you do of my heart.

You are condensed beauty's form within and without.

The grace of thought I have lost to your charms,

Everything you say is perfect to my dimwitted heart.

You stole my forbearance in an instant of a glance,

My sense of home was taken to France, exactly to the city of love, Paris.

I am now a servant to your whims,

My emotions at joy at the expense of my wit,

Stupid love has won for in a game of tag I am now it.

I now drink from the cistern of your charms,

My heart is now yours to be subjected to the sweet embrace of your palms and bittersweet graze of your claws,

Love sees no flaws as much as a fat man can see his toes, standing.

Love is foolish but not more than I am,

For in a battle of wits it stood its ground,

And came out a victor.

A man of sound judgment reduced to a lover,

The emotions I inhibited grew fonder,

And here is them addressing my persona,

Yes I am a fool to love you,

A nincompoop knows no honour,

He knows not to pick himself when he has fallen,

I have fallen for you,

And of that I know I am a goner.

A loner intoxicated by the vices of love,

I am far from saving, all I have is dumb love.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.