Poets logo

Drowning Of Man

By J.R. Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Way down

Way way down

I said one day as I was going to town

I would turn that frown upside down

And on that day I got a flat tire

Only to find myself getting drawn to the fire

The shot rang out and I heard the screams

Looking back it's not as weird as it seems

Finding myself in the wrong place again

It wasn't the first time, more like number ten

I ran into the fire like you knew I would

Because when there's something you can do you really should

As the two men came charging into sight

There I was alone in a rapid-fire gunfight

The first guy fell

I'll likely see him in hell

But that second guy knew how to play

He was in the fight to stay

We traded shot after shot

But it was all for naught

As he ran out before me

I went up to him to see

Who was this bad guy

I pulled his mask off and began to cry

The bad guy was me

Way down

Way down

I sink into the waters of the past

Knowing that in them I'll drown

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Conflicted, raw, and powerful!!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Excellent poetry,hearted. You come long way. I see you been writing a lot lately . 👏 Bravo.

  • Sarah Loyd2 years ago

    Excellent job! Sounds like a good country song to me 🤠

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.