Poets logo

Drowning

A poem about mental health

By Ashlea BicknellPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Drowning
Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

I almost drowned once

At the beach when the tide was strong

One minute I had my feet on solid ground

The sand squelching between my toes

The next I was pulled under

Someone dragged me to safety

I spat out half the ocean

Bodies of water made me weary

Not wanting to relive that experience

Except I would

This time without water

I feel the waves crashing over me

I’m fighting against the current

Unable to move. Eat. Live.

I can’t see the surface

And consider letting myself drown

Then I remember the people I love

And how they love me in return

It helps me fight against the dark abyss

I can see the surface

I break free

Gasping for air

I am alive

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. It truly means a lot. Feel free to drop a like if you wanna see more content like this and subscribe if you want to read more content by me :)

fact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Ashlea Bicknell

Writing has always been and will continue to be one of my biggest passions

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.