Poets logo

Drowning

I'm here for you.

By Ivy RozenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

I’m lying atop the ocean’s brim

My fingertips forgot their bounds

Dancing playfully along the surface

Each tap a louder sound

My arm began to fade

And my mind fell inward too

Pulled my existence down

Into the calm confusing blue

Forgotten my way up

I’ve been twisting all directions

My oxygen in limited, yet

Nearby I see my reflection

Banging on the glass

I realize it’s not a mirror

Through the thick ice she is crying

Silently seeing I’m her

She presses a hand against the chill

And I reach to touch it too

But my air runs out and, “It’ll be okay.”

She mouthed out, “I’m here for you.”

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ivy Rozen

Writer and poet with published articles, email campaigning experience, teaching experience, and a completed poetry residency with Free Verse, where I finished my first book of poems, Runcation, on sale now at www.IvanaWrites.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.