Poets logo

Dress Code

Well this is Fuc*ing Ridiculous

By Monika OlesenPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Well this is Fucking ridiculous

That you waste my time calling me to the office

To say my legs are on display

And that I look so like a prostitute in seventh grade

You worry I've lost my way

You care and they care

But not me

Because this is my body and I'll do what I please

When did society's norms figure they can tell me how to dress?

Do the women in the Middle East feel oppressed?

But while I'm exhibited

Her words and mind are all that's prohibited

We blame men for things being this way

But it's usually other women who judge who's gone astray

Because when I was seven and picked up a magazine

It was often women who were behind the scene

Who decided a female means weak

Because any challenge I love to meet

My skin is soft

My will is hard

So why does a woman president still seem so bizarre?

I wish I had facial hair

Because maybe then you would stop imaging me bare

And instead respect the drive within

Because, in everything, I aim for the win

But around the world we still suffer so

I wonder where our humanity's gone

Because you can't win at life playing with half a team

Still most choose this knowledge not to glean

So while I walk around in these short shorts of mine

Dear God can you think of more to say to me than "you're fine"

So in this one moment that you are listening to me

I beg you stop and think to consider us all a "we"

I know we are different in so many ways

But if we completely separate, well...then we have limited days

I truly believe the world can be a better place

If you look at a woman past her face

So to seventh grade me, I dedicate this to

And I will end calling my old teacher shrew

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.