Poets logo

Dreams

True Love

By KCPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Dreams
Photo by Ganapathy Kumar on Unsplash

Night sky, deep blue, almost black

Stars shine, moon hangs brightly watching

Silver glow washes over me

As I wait.

Wind whispers of promises to come

Dreams to be dreamed

Trees sway in time with the cool breeze.

Time passes, memories stir

I still wait

For what? I find myself asking.

For love

For a dream lover

One whose caress will send shivers down my spine

To my toes.

One who will sweep me off my feet

My mind laughs at my heart

‘tis foolish dreams you be dreaming,’ it murmurs.

No more foolish than those of many others, I reply

‘True enough’ it answers.

Fading into the darkness go the

Foolish dreams from a foolish heart .

I get up and start walking , no set destination in mind

Just a need to move , to go from here

The place of my dreams

A place of a young girl’s dreams

A place of safety.

But as I grow I know there are places for dreams

and reality isn’t one of them .

Walking towards the silver moon

It seems I'm not fully prepared to give up all hope

I know somewhere out there

My own dream lover is waiting for me .

Childish fantasies may have

No acceptable place in adult society

But without faith and trust

We are left in the harsh cold realm of reality

And everyone needs to get out of the grey sometimes.

I keep walking to wherever my feet want to take me

Over rocks, in shallow water , but mostly on the cold sand

I can feel the sand , so I know it's real

Or is it?

My mind wanders again

Trusting my feet will know where to go

The coolness of the night washes over me

I feel a strange calmness s ettle in me

It’s time

For what? I ask , already knowing the answer

I raise my head and see a figure approaching

He looks familiar though I know I've never met him before.

We reach each other and in the pale light of the night

We stare into each other’s eyes.

Feelings I'd only ever dreamed about overwhelm me

I knew him yet we'd never met

When he smiled and reached for my hand

I understood in that moment, dreams can come true.

I met my dream lover out on a lonely beach

One perfect night.

A wonderful night I will never forget.

A night much like this one.

Standing I reach for the candle lighting the room

And extinguish the flame.

In the still of the night I watch

The man bathed in silver moonlight

And smile

A secret smile.

Sleep washes away the pressures of the day

Leaving his face free from worry

Smiling his own small smile.

I wonder did he believe in dreams?

I leave the curtains open

Allowing the cool breeze to wash over our naked bodies

With a feeling of peace

I lie on the bed next to him

Safe in the knowledge he is real

And dreams can come true

Even when we have almost lost faith and least expect it.

Closing my eyes I let the night’s whispering

Lull me to sleep.

love poems
1

About the Creator

KC

Book lover and writer of fantasy fiction and sometimes deeper topics. My books are available on Amazon and my blog Fragile Explosions, can be found here https://kyliecalwell.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.