Poets logo

Dreamland

I See You When I Close My Eyes

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dreamland
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

The only time I see you anymore

is when I close my eyes

:

But I see you there more often

then I did when you were around

:

No matter your absence in the physical world

you are always there in dreamland

:

I see you in the magical

I see you in the mundane

:

When your eyes meet mine

I can see into your soul shining

:

When I touch your skin

it feels like a warm day in spring

Just as real as the real thing

:

When I breathe you in

your pheromones caress my nose

Pervading my wildflower fields

just like I remember

:

When I'm awake

your scent is the strongest thing

I can recall

after so much time apart

:

In dreamland

When you speak to me

the rhythm of R’s rolled from your throat

flutter my heart just like they used to

synchronizing with the music of your voice

:

With my eyes closed

it’s like you never went away

With my eyes closed

it’s like nothing in the physical world

created the distance I feel when I am awake

:

I wonder sometimes

if you see me too

If your dreams feel as real

as if I was really there

:

I wonder if dreamland

could ever be real

If they’re signs

from the universe

to never give up on your dreams

:

I wonder

if I will ever wake up

and see dreamland

become reality

:

I wonder

if I will ever see you again

with my eyes open

:

Either way

I'll see you in the astral plane

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.