Poets logo

Dreaming to Hold You

when you can feel what is not real

By Alejandra Mora HendlerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Dreaming to Hold You
Photo by Sam Moqadam on Unsplash

Here i sit waiting to hold you

there is an emptiness in my arms

that ache to wrap themselves

around your tiny body

why can’t I caress your face

and wipe your tears away?

why do I live in the dimension

where you are not with me?

why can I not cross over

and live within the perfection

of your existence alongside mine?

I crave to comfort you when you are afraid

and forever be

the calming presence of your existence

you can reach up with your delicate hand

to touch my smile as it widens for you

you give my life the meaning

I wasn’t aware I needed to feel whole

this feeling is not unfamiliar

for my heart has been here before

but it needs to return again

to this one of a kind love

to bear witness to the miracle

born out of me

you will be entering a troubled world

yet will be protected

by the force field of my heart

you will be the sunrise of my life

the hope for all futures

you’ll be the savior of my soul

the answer to all things.

I am waiting for you still, only you

once I hold you I can look back

and put together the puzzle pieces

of unanswered the questions of the past,

aligning my purpose in this world

I am yours

and the fact that you do not exist

is the major obstacle of my life

it cracks in the glass heart

I hold in my chest

your absence slowly deteriorates my life

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Alejandra Mora Hendler

Mother, wife & author. My poetry chapbooks and novella are on amazon. A free chapter of the novella is right here on vocal, and my new book Jasper & Sunny will be released here first one chapter at a time!

www.alejandramorahendler.com

Hugs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.