Poets logo

Dreaming of What Could Have Been

A poem of regret

By IndaliaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dreaming of What Could Have Been
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I miss you in the morning.

I miss you through the day.

I miss you in the evenings.

Will it ever go away?

Still so many reasons,

I wish I would have stayed.

You were my support,

Always by my side.

Always there to hold me,

Even when I wanted to die.

You decided to love me,

Dispite all my flaws.

Little did I know,

all the patience it took.

I guess that is why,

you decided to look.

I treated you so poorly.

I stopped giving you gifts.

I said you didn’t deserve them.

Wasn’t that just sick?

You never stopped trying.

You always gave it your best.

You made progress every day,

And I sure didn’t make it the easiest.

You are better off without me

But the thing I just don’t get..

Wasn’t it just a year ago?

You asked me a question I’ll never forget.

I guess I can’t be one to judge.

I was with you one moment,

Then with him the next.

I still can’t believe that I fell for it.

The looks and the money,

and the promise of love.

I gave up my soulmate,

Because I didn’t trust my gut.

I listened to my friends,

The ones who said I could do better.

But they didn’t know him like I did,

I should have chosen better.

Now I’ll be on my own,

But that’s the way it should be

Just wasting all my time

Dreaming of what could have been.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Indalia

Writing has been a passion of mine as long as I can remember because it allows me the freedom to explore my thoughts and gain perspectives that help guide me along the path of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.