Poets logo

Downplaying Death As We All Wait To Die

An experience in time

By Kayleigh TaylorPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
https://images.app.goo.gl/djJaewrDVeDaGmM97

Death

Today I was born

My lungs fought for the air

They hurt but I found it

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am one

I walk on my own

I fell and it hurt

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am five

I started first school

My mum left and it hurt

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Twelve

I started high school

I was bullied for being different

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Eighteen

I am finally an adult

I got nervous with anxiety

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Twenty Five

I became a junior doctor

I saw a child die of Cancer today

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Thirty

I married my true love

He makes me overwhelmed with happiness

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Thirty Three

My Princess was born

6lb 10oz

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Forty

My dad died today

His heart just gave up

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Forty Five

My divorce just came through

My soul mate no more

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Forty Six

I got Cancer today

My soulmate came back

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am Forty Seven

The Cancer won't go away

My Princess is Fourteen

I let out a cry

Death

Today I am dead

The Cancer won this time

My Princess is alone

She let out a cry

Death

Each time you read a sequence and move on to the word 'Death' somebody loses their battle with life in this world. Live each day as it's your last. Win in life because we all lose in death.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Kayleigh Taylor

Book, coffee and pet-obsessed writer who loves writing raw truths and fictional fantasies. I hope you enjoy.

Kayleigh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.