Poets logo

Down in a Well

with no recollection of anything before

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Down in a Well
Photo by Valentin Lacoste on Unsplash

Dark. Damp. Cold.

My hands reach around,

But there nothing to hold.

And my left leg feels so cramped.

Are my eyes open or shut?

Behind my back, the wall is wet to the touch.

How about my right leg? Is it free or is it stuck?

It feels like it can move.

But without my left

Is my right leg really of use?

There's only one way to find out.

Crack. Snap. I am flooded with pain.

I shriek inside. I won’t do that again.

My breathing is fast now.

Just think. How do I get out of here? But first, how did I get in?

And more importantly, how long has it been?

If I had moments before this, I don’t remember when.

I look up. I see light at the rim.

Okay, my eyes must be open.

That’s a start. OK, what is that I hear? Some sort of rhythm?

A paradiddle? Oh, that’s the sound of my heart.

It’s getting faster now. Am I having a panic attack? Am I about to blackout?

Am I in my own head or am I speaking out loud?

Just calm down. No need to give in to doubts.

But no sooner than I can collect my thoughts, when something grabs me and pulls me out.

Suddenly, the room is flooded with blinding light. I flail and kick and scream and fight.

WHO IS THIS GIANT OF PROPORTIONALLY, GINORMOUS HEIGHT?!

Who is this man in all white?

Tears likes rivers pour down my face.

"Welcome to the world, baby girl. Shh. You are going to be alright."

Thank you for taking the time to read Down in a Well. If you have time, please check out some of my other works such as, Rearview Mirror which was featured as a Vocal Top Story, by copying and pasting the link below.

https://vocal.media/poets/rearview-mirror-8w4w74081m

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.