Poets logo

Double-Edged Fame

Careful What You Wish For

By Alex C-BPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Live wild and free in a multi-million dollar fantasy"

I want to be spectacular,

A superstar so popular

Bright lights flash

All eyes on me.

Make too much cash

Writing poetry,

Live wild and free

In a multi-million dollar fantasy.

Sold out performances

And endless romances,

Every night new audiences.

Red burst of heart and like flow.

Hope I never wake up from such abundance.

Slippery slope.

Lowered Yankees hat and oversized shades

Cover my whole face at the grocery store

After fame swells my ego inflated.

Two bodyguards hired to protect my big head.

Paparazzi,

My privacy feels suffocated

But this addiction to attention

Fuels artistic prostitution

To pay off the mansion.

Man,

Are these new friends even real

Or do they just pretend to be?

Tell me please,

Is this nightmare ever going to end?

No pill can fill the void anymore,

Broken bottles all over the floor,

Hard drugs caught in a party of whores.

My mugshot goes viral,

Hot mess in the latest tabloids.

Paranoid,

Next comes the public psychosis.

Shit,

I never signed up for this.

I wish I hadn't wished so much,

Now I'm lost out of touch with reality

Because I chased after immortality.

The moment sinks in,

Snaps me out of this thinking.

I stay grateful for this breath,

My soul,

A pulse of health

That pumps within

A lung-full of life-giving oxygen,

Pushes death away

Then pulls it back so much closer.

More Poems

O' Jolene

Light-Year Growth

Conversation With a Demon

The Dance

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alex C-B

Pieces of myself through facts and fiction - A fallible human of the digital era. I bought the ticket, missed the ride, then tripped down the rabbit hole and woke up stranded with you in this strange matrix.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.