Poets logo

Dopamine Zombie

suffocating and needing to feed off attention

By Adonis RichardsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

The emptiness I feel at times leaves a hunger in my soul I can't seem to satisfy

The need to feed on success forces me to salivate on the possibilities of what I can achieve

However, I continue to deceive my own hunger with thirsts

These thirsts are in the shape of the poisonous drinks of anxiety,

Laziness

And depression

Exhaustion is the soda that I swallow in all my free time.

I want to quench these thirsts with the flagrant waters of dedication, determination, and belief in myself

So every day I take the time to discipline myself and toss aside those dark drinks that make me think I can't succeed

I do what I can to fill this satiating emptiness in my soul. 

I refuse to consume the foods that naturally down my mood

The candies of self-doubt, the fats of self-hate.

Naw I'd rather eat the fruits of self-love and appreciating.

This love apple and positive orange tastes way better than this burger of greasy depression

So I toss aside the pasta transgressions and begin to meal plan the new light that will propel me to the healthier living I've always pursued.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Adonis Richards

An aspiring writer and journalist looking to motivate people through my writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.