Poets logo

DONE!

Fed-up

By I OmnistPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

HEY! Listen up, listen now, listen here and listen good

If you don't then all you'll hear will be screams throughout your neighborhood

The things that seem to work for me are typically what no one wants

I'm the "swim against the current man", the dude that's weathered from the fronts

A simple life is what folks claim yet no one seems to have one

I can tell you now it's not built on gold or anything that's lost or won

Please don't take this as complaining; understand that someone needs to do it

There has to be some imbecillic rebel willing enough to endure it

I no longer watch the news because I don't believe what's being sold

With that stated I must also tell you that I'm no good at being "told!"

I must also state I've had enough with history's repeating theme

Allowing us to thrive on greed and putting those in charge who scheme

Sufficed to say that I'm fed with with living how most people do

Those in charge pillage, plunder, lie and steal then turn around and blame all of you

Everyone's a psychopath, because they all seem to think they're right

God forbid you disagree, you'll be in for an unwinnable fight

So follow along and play the game wherein every turn you'll be misled

I do believe them when they say "if you don't you'll end up dead"

So yeah, that's it, that does it, I quit! I'm done with life's indigestible shit!

I'm done with the talks of paying dues, when those that you owe give no choice but to lose

Some day though I'll have my day and then there'll be little left to say

From those who doubted why I turned and went the other way

And only silence will I then give and my face will express 'I told you so'

And the bitter sweetness of lies believed will cripple life as they unfold

By: Charles Poore

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

I Omnist

Philosopher, philanthropist, poet, philanderer, paramour and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.