Poets logo

"Don't Go to LA"

My Biggest Blessing Yet

By Emma PeretzPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

...this thought has been coming in and out

Of my mind

Since the moment I decided to

Leave Madrid

And go "back home"

To #losangeles

Los Angeles for me was not how it's portrayed in movies

Glamorous Hollywood

The city of Stars

It's where I grew up as a child

It's where I spent my Elementary and Middle School years

It's where I went to High School

And started hating myself

Because I thought the world knew

who I was

And I was trying for so long to

Fit in their box to meet and exceed their Expectations

For only #acceptance in return

I did not want to go back to that

I didn't want to be put in back in a box

But now realizing

That the whole time

The only person who was putting me in that limited box was myself

When you realize and feel in your body

The magnificence which is you

The home of the heart

Which needs only to be turned on

And is with you #whereveryougo

There is no need anymore to go to the edges of the world to find yourself

Because when you go to the edges of the mind

Including the thought "Don't go back home"

It's not your intuition telling you you're not on your "path" if you go back to a specific place at a specific time living with specific people

It's your body reminding you that you were

#Home

The entire time

#dontgotola #Beinlosangeles #evenmoreso

Remember

You were the Star with a capital "S" of your own personalized movie the #wholetime

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.