Poets logo

Don't Forget Me...

The pain of living with loved ones with dementia

By Bianca WargoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Don't forget me...

I see every day

the lack of coherent sentences,

the things you see that aren't there,

the confusion and frustration when you can't go where you think you need to

because grandpa says you might trip and fall.

I see you forget how to button up your shirts.

I see you forget how to read certain things.

Please don't forget me...

I hear you saying you need to get home and take care of your kids...

but you are home,

and they're all near fifty years.

Don't forget me...

your granddaughter.

Don't forget me... please...

I know you won't forget about your love–

your passion–

for beautiful flowers and caring for them,

but I'm begging you...

Don't forget me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Wargo

Psychology and English Writing double major at Kean U

1 Thessalonians 4:3-8

Leaving my old writing up to go back sometimes and see how God's changed me to be better.

PODCAST: Gold Scars (available on Spotify & Anchor)

insta/TikTok: @biancawargo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.