Poets logo

Don’t Fear My Tears

On the subject of depression

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Don’t Fear My Tears
Photo by Mayank Dhanawade on Unsplash

People don't always understand

Depression.

Depression.

The big scary word called

Depression.

They want to shove it under the rug

Into a deep dark corner

Away from unaffected people

so they can remain unaffected.

They claim victim status

Crying over cut arms and thin ribs

They beg Prozac and Lexapro and

Forced stays in Mental Institutions

to grant them asylum

from the so-considered insane people

they deem contagious.

They fear that if I get my tears

too close to your tears

They will seep mercilessly into your heart,

infecting your bloodstream

Attacking your brain

Until you slice your arm open like an

Amazon package to get it out.

They don't realize that I fear my own tears

far more than they do,

That I have sat naked in a bathtub

three lifeless nights in a row

willing myself to get clean because

I don't have the strength to stand.

The strength to hold myself up in a world

that wants only to pull me down.

So don't fear my tears.

Don't fear my cuts.

Don't fear my empty pill bottles.

I have so many better things for you to fear.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kent Brindley2 years ago

    Thank you for the courage to share!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.