Poets logo

Do you Reckon?

A song

By Jon SutcliffePublished 11 months ago 2 min read
2

"Do you reckon?"

I remember June that year

The year we were together

I never tied you to my noose

The collar or the tether

Fifty seven stolen kisses

In the garden I called heaven

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

We were much too pretty darling

In our souls but mainly in our minds

Trying too hard to love each other

Joking about passing time

Youthful love adorn the sun

I felt so proud to have you in my prime

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

I heard your famous sweetheart

For playing hearts in a game of chance

All too much to watch that blush

For that man who took you for that dance

I stole my burning jealousy

Green with envy dead with no romance

A stolen rose

For your stolen kiss

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

Dragged around the bed like ragdolls

The pleasure like a fire

We never cared for howling noise

I mourn the death of desire

I’ll miss our summer nights

If we’d been caught and the riot

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

We hit those roads like wildcats

Young lovers in midnight hours

Searching for a place to crash

Resting in the moonlights powers

I took you like a queen in green

I’d pay my soul for those stolen hours

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

And if that soul could buy you back

I’d be sold and scarred tomorrow

Soulless eyes would consume my own

Never swell with joy or sorrow

But your beauty would be back with me

And strike life into me like arrows

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

So now you’re famous my missing love

Making love to a secret stranger

I drank myself into trouble one night

There are rumours I'm in danger

And one last lyric for Leonard Cohen

Guess I'm still I'm still just some Joseph looking for a manger

A stolen rose

For your stolen kiss

And do you reckon we’ll be fine?

Or is my hope so much in vain

I reckon you’ll be fine

Don’t you worry about remembering my name

love poems
2

About the Creator

Jon Sutcliffe

A Poet, and singer songwriter from south London,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.