Poets logo

Do Mar

drifted and shifted by currents unseen

By Isaac Haldeman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Pre-Etched tattoos

do mar do mar do

right bicep note clearly seen

tatt by her decree

pure thought, etched facades

soft skin inked beneath light hands

impulses well planned

fall over in love

with her again as I watch

the needle pierce skin

-

how’d two islands move?

sands did shift, by new waves mused

all currents from God

-

often staycations

we sit close to journey far

joy that we predict

planned trips her and i

crown rules remian unbroken

mmm the way we move

pitched tents just us two

from blue hues and screens, unglue

reach for center boo

“only a year it’s been”

wait, he’ll say, “i told ya so”

fate’s trap we call love

“chemical’s action”

he says to me while pack’n

his bowl-lit escape

-

days spent in and out

keep waiting for a fight’s shout

me thinks this shall last

hope’s dope free and fair

scopes tell “you both hail from air”

signs that help to ground

let her be and see

P T L always stay you

acceptance for we

like Rio we fit

favorite bits of nature

all in one be found

-

constantly staring

within my scribbles of thee

eyes, always a theme

inner beauty yes

distance to my gaze sees past

outer beauty, wow

architect’s stamped plans

blue prints in DNA strands

new wonder, come see

the girl that’s from sea

day of birth shook NYC

unfelt down south, gee

I was just a kid

oh how I wish we played tag

I found what life hid

-

"without the space, babe"

"its meaning is to tame

hounds of fear lost scents not sense

I love you wild

“eu não quero domar.”

words for the alter

zoo hatred by me

freely wild this woman must be

no leashes around

-

time to wrap this up

who will read these love notes, who?

oh I know you will

for Papi

from Mami

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.